Unorthodox Techniques (Part 1: How to Crush Walnuts)

Something tells me there’s a more proper method for crushing walnuts. I, however, prefer to use the back of a tablespoon.

It works. That’s what counts.

Valentine’s Day baking photos tomorrow.

4 Responses to “Unorthodox Techniques (Part 1: How to Crush Walnuts)”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I’m sure most professional chefs would laugh at some of my preparation methods.
    Sounds like we both went Valentine baking crazy…can’t wait to see what you made!

  2. FlyerAsh Says:

    Case in point for the mortar and pestal :)

  3. amberance Says:

    I know you posted this like 2 1/2 months ago, but if I need to crush a lot of walnuts? I put them in a ziplock bag and kill it with my hammer.

  4. Jenny Says:

    Point. I’m a fan of the freezer-bag-and-hammer or the freezer-bag-and-meat-mallet method as well. This just works better if you need a small amount for sprinkling.


Leave a Reply

