Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy February 14th, everyone! Hope you’re all enjoying some sweet treats today!

Here’s what came out of my kitchen:

First, some incredible Framboise Lambic Brownies, inspired by McCauliflower’s delicious, chocolatey recipe. I almost didn’t mod the recipe, because it looked perfect just the way it was. But…I can’t cook anything without tinkering with it, so I added a few tablespoons of purĂ©ed raspberries to the batter.

Raspberry brownies, made with beer!

And what holiday is complete without cupcakes? These are dark chocolate cupcakes with pink-tinted buttercream frosting. They’re made with my classic chocolate cupcake recipe, minus the mint extract and switching out the regular cocoa powder in favor of dark.

Pretty in pink.

I learned a few new things while I was baking:

  • The kitchen floor isn’t the only place I can take food pictures! These shots were taken in natural light, on the living room windowsill. I’m a fan.
  • Semisweet chocolate chips can catch on fire. I don’t have photographic evidence of this, but trust me. They can. It’s not pretty.
  • When you pop open a bottle of Framboise Lambic, it makes the whole kitchen smell good. Even if you’ve just ignited some semisweet chocolate chips. Bonus!
3 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!”

  1. superluckykitchen Says:

    those cupcakes look lovely! i’m a sucker for anything with pink frosting.

  2. ToKisstheCook Says:

    Your lovely roommate turned me on to the site and I am SHOCKED it took me this long to find it! Cupcakes…indeed.

    And how good is raspberry lambic? ridiculous.

  3. Jenny Says:

    Yay, glad you like! Pink frosting is great, and so is my roommate :)

    Raspberry lambic rocks my socks off…too bad it’s not cheap!


Leave a Reply

