Thin Mints, The Remix

I might be a teensy bit obsessive-compulsive. And by a teensy bit, I mean a lot. But I just could not handle having the only photo of my faux Thin Mints be messy and fingerprinted. I know, I know, they look more real if they’re messy. But still.

And so…the remix. They’re shaped differently, I changed techniques a bit, and there are no fingerprints on the chocolate. I mean, not that you can tell, since I took these photos in natural sunlight, and the dark chocolate is just too sophisticated and classy to look fingerprinted even if I had messed them up, but I feel much better about these ones.

Rectangular (and fingerprint-free) thin mints.

Obviously, these ones aren’t round. And they’re actually thin, so I can call them Thin Mints instead of Not-So-Thin Mints.

Basically, Martha’s awesome bottom-of-the-glass trick wasn’t working for me this morning. I don’t know what the deal was, but every time I tried to make pretty, round cookies, they’d end up all funky and not-round. Rather than fight with the cookies, I opted to put the dough in between two pieces of plastic wrap (I ran out of parchment paper this morning, too) and beat it into submission with the rolling pin. Um, roll it into submission. Anyways, then I took a butterknife and cut out rectangles (about 1/8″ thick, 1/2″ wide, 3″ long), and then carefully transferred them over to a baking sheet.

10 minutes in the oven*, 6 minutes to cool. Mint chocolate spread on top instead of dipped (this makes them set faster, who knew?), sprinkles applied, refrigerated until pretty and smooth, and then photographed until my camera battery died.

Pretty solid remix.

*By the way, the new oven rocks my socks off. Not only does it preheat in less than 45 minutes, but there’s a little screen at the top that tells me exactly what temperature it’s at. LOVE.

One Response to “Thin Mints, The Remix”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Beautiful picture! Those look awesome!


Leave a Reply

