Guinness is Good For You

And now, the Irish Cupcake Bomb!

These were a huge hit at the South Side Irish Parade. The Boyfriend doesn’t like sweets, but he ate two. The bouncer at Duffy’s called them “a party in [his] mouth,” and some strangers decided that I was their hero for making them. I’d say that’s a pretty good vote of confidence for these cupcakes.

I added the Jameson back into the equation because I’m really weird about authenticity sometimes. These cupcakes really do taste like Irish Car Bombs!

The Irish Cupcake Bomb, shamrocked and all.

The recipe is based on the Chocolate Beer Cake from The Delia Collection: Chocolate, found here and Frosted’s Bailey’s Buttercream recipe, found here.

The recipe: Irish Cupcake Bombs

Guinness Cupcakes
9 tbsp of cocoa powder
7 fl oz of Guinness stout
1 stick of unsalted butter, softened
2 eggs
1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar
1 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp mayonnaise
2 tbsp sour cream

Bailey’s Buttercream Frosting
1 stick of unsalted butter, room temperature
3 cups confectioner’s sugar
Bailey’s Irish Cream
Jameson Irish whiskey

Do This
Preheat oven to 350.
Mix flour, baking powder, and baking soda in a bowl and set aside. Cream the butter, sugar, and eggs in a large mixing bowl until they are light brown and well-blended. Slowly add in the dry ingredient mixture, and blend on low speed (or faster if you really feel like it, but the flour tends to fly everywhere if you mix it too fast).
Pour Guinness into a liquid measure. Mine was from a can (I know, wrong! But that widget is pretty cool.) and I let it set for a moment so the head could form. In my liquid measure, the stout came up to the 6 oz mark and the head came up to the 7 oz mark. In a separate bowl, slowly pour Guinness over the cocoa powder, and stir until you have a mixture of about the same consistency and appearance as chocolate syrup. Pour this into the large bowl and mix until the batter is thick and completely blended.
Put cupcake papers in your cupcake tin. The batter is pretty thick, so I used two papers (one paper and one foil) for each cupcake. Spoon the batter into the cupcake papers and shake or tap the tin against the counter to settle the batter in each cup. About 2/3 full is ideal for these cupcakes – they’ll come out nice and rounded above the tops of the papers, but not overflow.
Set the oven timer for 25 minutes and put the cupcakes in the oven. Do a toothpick-test (stick a toothpick in the middle of the biggest cupcake in the batch, and the cupcakes are done when this comes out clean) and continue baking as necessary. Mine finished in about 27 minutes.
Remove the cupcakes from the oven and let them cool for several minutes while you make the frosting.
Put the stick of room-temperature butter in a large mixing bowl, and beat at medium-to-high speed for a few minutes. Add a few short glugs (a tablespoon or two) of Bailey’s and a tiny bit (less than a tablespoon) of Jameson, and mix at low speed. Don’t worry if the butter and the liquor don’t mix all the way, the sugar will take care of that.
Gradually spoon confectioner’s sugar into the bowl, mixing on low speed. The frosting recipe I based this on calls for 3 cups of sugar, but I just kept adding a tablespoon at a time until the frosting was the texture I wanted. It might have been more or less than 3 cups – keep adding sugar and mixing until you have a creamy, thick frosting. If you accidentally go overboard with the sugar and it’s too thick, add a little bit more Bailey’s.
Frost your cupcakes, and refrigerate them until you’re ready to serve them. If you feel like adding a little shamrock like the one in the photo, take note that it’s not as easy to draw on a cupcake as it is to etch into the foam on a pint of Guinness. Most of my cupcakes ended up shamrock-free.

A few quick notes for anyone who wants to try these:

  • I’ve modified the recipe since its original posting, and added in the mayo and sour cream. I usually use these to make chocolate cakes/cupcakes more moist, but wasn’t sure how it would work with the Guinness in the mix. It does, in fact, work, so if you made the original version of these cupcakes and weren’t thrilled with the texture, they’re much more moist and fluffy now.
  • These would probably work better as mini-cupcakes. I’d like to have made at least a dozen or two more to share with people at the parade. I just couldn’t find the smaller papers.
  • If you don’t like Guinness (or car bombs), these probably won’t be your favorite cupcakes. While there is chocolate in the batter, they definitely taste more like Guinness, and they’re not super sweet.
  • Go very light on the Jameson if you want the frosting to taste like frosting and not whiskey.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Sláinte!

11 Responses to “Guinness is Good For You”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Beautiful cupcake!! Wow these look just fantastic!

  2. Pablo Says:

    sweet…. (pun intended)

    …and why was I not prithy to your blog?! ;)

  3. Jenny Says:

    Thanks :)

  4. Jenny Says:

    And Pablo…it’s linked on my Facebook? Also I haven’t seen you in a few weeks.

  5. Rachel Says:

    I love the variation to my buttercream recipe! These sound delicious, but so rich:)

  6. Jenny Says:

    Aww I’m so happy you like it! And they are pretty rich…I wish I could find mini-cupcake papers and make tiny cupcake bombs.

  7. Lacey Bean Says:

    Joy sent me to your website, and I am SO making these cupcakes for my boyfriend’s birthday. He LOVES Guinness!!

  8. Jenny Says:

    Very cool! I might have to make another batch soon…I still have 3 cans of Guinness left.

  9. LeisureSuitLeo Says:

    I realize I’m really late reading this blog entry, but I’d like to mention that it’s FAR classier than my Irish-Car Invention. haha

  10. mara Says:

    it took forever for me to find the mini-papers, too

    not sure if you have them, but hobby lobby/michael’s/virtually any crafts/hobby/party store has them!

    -m

  11. Jenny Says:

    Thanks for the tip-off, Mara! I’ve been looking at grocery stores and party stores, but I didn’t even think to check at a craft or hobby store.

    Also, Leo, these might be classier, but yours was definitely fun!


Leave a Reply

