No Bananas Foster for me

Sorry for the lack of food photos from my kitchen lately. I’ve been busy dealing with the insurance company, fire department, contractors, and my formerly-jovial-but-now-enraged landlord. See, the landlord told my roommate and I that we could do anything we wanted to the house – paint, have pets, take a sledgehammer to the walls – as long as we didn’t burn the place down.

Yeah, well I don’t know very much about fire safety.

 I’d post my Bananas Foster recipe, but I’m too busy trying to convince the insurance company that there’s a KitchenAid standing mixer somewhere in the burning wreckage.

14 Responses to “No Bananas Foster for me”

  1. Big Time Fancy Says:

    Thanks a lot, roommate. I was planning to keep on living in that house for….at least until the end of the lease.

    Know what you’re getting for your birthday? A fire extinguisher.

  2. Jenny Says:

    At least the XBOX360 is safe. And you can use the basement bathroom for a while until everything gets cleaned up.

  3. Big Time Fancy Says:

    I don’t know if you noticed – in your hurry to save the video games – but thanks to the lovely hole in the floor of the kitchen, the basement bathroom has no ceiling.

  4. Jenny Says:

    It’s well-ventilated now?

  5. Big Time Fancy Says:

    You burned a substantial amount of our house. The whole place is well ventilated now. Hell, your bedroom is well-ventilated since you’re missing a WHOLE FUCKING WALL.

  6. Pablo Says:

    Oh my gosh!! I’m so glad you are safe!!! What an awful start to the month of April!!

  7. ToKissTheCook Says:

    Well fuck. I am so so sorry RC. I’ve gotten a little feisty with the 151 and bananas myself and am SUPER glad you guys are safe… what color was that mixer? ;)

  8. Jenny Says:

    Thanks, everyone! The mixer was one of the Custom Metallic stand mixers, in Satin Copper. It matched my beautiful set of copper pots that was also tragically lost in the fire.

  9. Fire. « Big Time Fancy Says:

    […] a much longer story to be told, but the short version is that Miss Roommate tried to make bananas foster this morning. It did not go well. The smoke damage to the house is insane and a large portion of […]

  10. I am Pablo » Blog Archive » Yes, I’m actually posting! Says:

    […] Reckless Chef has burned down her apartment! Make sure to stop by and send your […]

  11. Fitz Says:

    I don’t know who you are (or do I?), but I followed you here from Pablo’s blog, and just had to let you know two things:
    1. condolences on the kitchen.
    2. I love you for your car-bomb cupcake recipe. I only wish I had seen it in time for our St. Patty’s Day dinner party.. :(

  12. Jenny Says:

    Fitz, you don’t know me yet, but I think you might know of me. If you read Cap’s On Tap, I’m Mrs. Sizemore.

    1. Thanks. Most of the smoke has cleared now.
    2. It’s an incentive to come out to Chicago for Cap of July? You can bet there will be a batch for that party.

  13. Frosted Says:

    I hope that this was some sort of April Fool’s Day joke…

    You didn’t really burn down the house, right? Right?!?

  14. B-A-N-A-N-A-S « The Reckless Chef Says:

    […] talk to me! ← No Bananas Foster for me […]


Leave a Reply

