The Best Laid Plans…

…are no use at all if you don’t read the directions.

I wanted to make these adorable little mini caramel apples. I also made the tragic assumption that looking at the photo was enough instruction for me, and ignored the text entirely. Whoops.

I present to you….the one mini caramel apple that actually made it from start to finish:


It’s a good thing you’re pretty.

Upon revisiting the original instructions, I noticed that the original recipe called for caramel dip. Not melted caramel. Big difference.

See, microwaved caramel squares only stay soft and melty for about .025 seconds, then they return to being hard, chewy caramel, now shaped like the bowl you melted them in. This is – to say the least – not conducive to dipping apples. I fought like mad just to get the caramel on that one apple.

On the plus side, the melon ball-ed apples are totally cute:


Little melon ball-ed apples, waiting for some caramel coats.

Shoot over here for the recipe and directions. And, uh, it helps if you read them.

6 Responses to “The Best Laid Plans…”

  1. Lacey Bean Says:

    I could see myself totally doing the same thing.

  2. Jenny Says:

    Yeah, sometimes it’s easy to take one look at something and know exactly how to make it, and other times it kicks you in the pants. On a much happier note, I now have a bag of caramel squares for snacking on.

  3. Big Time Fancy Says:

    I vote for a redo. So I can eat ALL of them.

  4. Jenny Says:

    You’re gonna have to wait until I go grocerying again (possibly tomorrow). I ate all of the remaining apples for snacks/breakfast.

  5. RebeccaC Says:

    Mello balled apples…fabulous! Redo! Redo!

    I may have to bust out a pumpkin carving party this fall, just to steal this recipe ; )

  6. Jenny Says:

    Do it! And there will be a re-do, just because they are that cute. And because I really don’t use the melon baller enough.


Leave a Reply

