O-H!

I’m a Buckeye ’til I die, so with football season gearing up, I thought it was only right to make some buckeyes.


Not this kind of Buckeye!

Buckeye candies, that is.


I may or may not have picked some leaves off an office plant for this photo…

The Recipe:
Buckeye Candies
1 1/4 cups creamy peanut butter
1/2 stick butter, softened
2 1/2 cups confectioner’s sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1 tsp vegetable shortening

Do This
Blend peanut butter, butter, sugar, and vanilla in a large mixing bowl. Beat on low speed until combined into a light-brown dough. If the resulting mixture is dry and crumbly, add a few more tablespoons of peanut butter to smooth it out. Roll into balls, approximately one inch in diameter. You may need to work the dough a bit with your hands to make it behave and roll into nice, smooth balls. Place the peanut butter balls on a foil-lined baking sheet, and refrigerate for 10-15 minutes.

If you have a double boiler and prefer to melt the chocolate that way, go for it. I don’t, so I opted to melt the chocolate chips in the microwave. Add a teaspoon of shortening to the chocolate to make it easier to dip. I’ve heard a “rule of thumb” that suggests 1 tablespoon of shortening per cup of chocolate, but I feel like that alters the chocolate too much, and a teaspoon will suffice to make the chocolate smooth enough for dipping. Place the chips and shortening in a glass bowl or measuring cup. Microwave on high for about a minute and a half, and stir the chocolate. If there are still lumps in the melty chocolate, pop it back in the microwave for a few more seconds.

Remove the peanut butter balls from the fridge. Stab each one with a toothpick, and use that to dip them in the chocolate. In order to more closely approximate a real buckeye, leave a small part of the peanut butter ball un-dipped. Place the candies back on the foil-lined baking sheet, and chill in the refrigerator until the chocolate is set.

If you’re a perfectionist, use a toothpick or fork to smooth over the hole left from the toothpick during the dipping process.

Serve with a glass of milk and some Ohio State pride.


Real buckeyes are poisonous. These ones are just delicious!

This is a recipe I had scrawled down in a notebook, origin unknown – I’ve been making these since I was small. I’m pretty sure every child who goes through elementary school in the state of Ohio has to learn how to make buckeyes at some point. Experienced buckeye-makers, take note: the peanut butter dough in this recipe is a little bit drier than some other versions, and the balls are a little bit more difficult to shape. Despite this, the resulting candies are very rich and very tasty.

Football season is approaching, and there are many more buckeyes to come.

8 Responses to “O-H!”

  1. ToKissTheCook Says:

    sweet mother… you made BUCKEYES!!! O-H-EYE-OMYGOODNIGHT-THEY-ARE-SO-EFFING-GOOD!!!!

  2. RebeccaC Says:

    Okay…I’m only a buckeye by marriage. Err…I will be once we’re actually married but I already considered myself a fullblown O-H-I-O person.

    I thank you and my fiance thanks you for this recipe. He gives many a hint about these things and I’ve never had a recipe on hand. This is the push I needed!

  3. Jenny Says:

    Yay! This is the first of many buckeye recipes…I have several of them written down, and I’ve never actually taken the time to make comparisons. If these don’t happen to be your fav, more will be posted throughout football season :)

  4. FlyerAsh Says:

    I make these by the hundreds for tailgating.

    Sing it with me now…
    Drive, Drive on down the field,
    Men of the scarlet and gray;
    Don’t let them through that line,
    We’ve got to win this game today,
    COME ON OHIO!
    Smash through to victory,
    We cheer you as we go!
    Our honor defend we will fight to the end for OHIO!

  5. Jenny Says:

    FlyerAsh, we’re coming out there for homecoming. Tailgating will happen. Be ready.

  6. FlyerAsh Says:

    YES! Best news all day! I was born ready!

  7. IamPablo Says:

    those look great!!

  8. Jenny Says:

    Pablo, you’ll have to watch OSU games with us. There will be plenty of buckeyes!


Leave a Reply

