Holy Guacamole!

Wolfgang Puck and I are best friends. I wish. But I’d totally come over to his house for some guacamole. I’d even bring over a couple bottles of Tecate.


There are no chips in this photo. That’s because I’d eat this with a spoon.

My pal Wolfgang has a recipe for California Guacamole on his website, and it’s probably my favorite guac ever. My version has some changes that were necessitated by me being too lazy to search the grocery store for certain things, but it worked out just fine.

The Recipe
Cali Guacamole à la Wolfgang Puck

3 medium, fully ripe avocados
1/4 cup lime juice
1/4 cup fresh cilantro
1 medium shallot
1 tbsp minced garlic
1 small Serrano chile (Puck asks for a jalapeno)
1 1/2 tsp salt

Do This
Slice each avocado in half around the pit. This should be super easy if your avocados are ripe. Remove the pit, and spoon the avocado flesh into a bowl. If you’re too lazy to use a spoon, just squeeze the avocado and it should all come right out.
Pour the lime juice over the avocado.
Mince everything: shallot, garlic, chiles, cilantro (well, chop that…I don’t know if cilantro can really be minced). Be careful with the chiles! Make sure to take out the seeds, and chop them into the smallest bits possible. Wash your hands after handling them, and wash anything you touched in between mincing them and washing your hands. That oil burns if it gets in your eyes (trust me, I know).
Combine the shallot, garlic, chiles, cilantro, and salt with the lime-doused avocado. Mash together with a fork until blended but a little bit chunky.
Serve at room temperature with tortilla chips, or eat with a spoon. Refrigerate if not eating immediately.

Wolfgang’s recipe calls for jalapeno peppers, but I couldn’t find them at the store, so I went with Serrano chiles. I like the extra kick in the mouth that a few additional Scoville units contribute. It’s not overwhelming (there’s only one pepper in the entire batch) but it’s a nice contrast to the tangy lime. I also used a little bit less cilantro, because it smells funny and I don’t enjoy chopping it.

This guac is perfect for a party, or for sitting around with a few beers (Mexican, of course) and enjoying the summer weather while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

