I’ve Got Steam Heat

Most excellent:


Not my own photo, but it’ll have to do until I upload the action shots.

Silicon veggie steamer! I’ve been using the old-fashioned metal type steamer basket, but I hate how unwieldy that thing is at clean-up time. Broccoli and asparagus are not friends with the metal basket, because the little tiny bits get stuck in the steam holes, and then trapped in between the folded-over segments. It might not be so annoying in a dishwasher, but I don’t have one, so I’d been searching for a nice silicon replacement for some time. Hooray for Linens ‘N Things having store liquidation sales! I got a pretty red steamer (just like the one in the photo up there) for nine dollars.

2 Responses to “I’ve Got Steam Heat”

  1. LeisureSuitLeo Says:

    Those are pretty cool, but the metal steamers have another great use: Roasting garlic or peppers over a gas stove. Just open the metal leaves, place over a burner, and toss your roastables on there. Turn them accordingly, and enjoy!

  2. Jenny Says:

    That’s an amazing idea! I’m so glad I didn’t throw it out yet. Thanks, Leo :)


Leave a Reply

