Fake Holidays Are The Best

Turkey Lurkey here has a very important announcement: Fakesgiving is almost here.


Yes, that hand-turkey is totally traced from my hand. Yes, I am 24 years old.

What’s Fakesgiving, you ask?

It’s only the best fake holiday ever. Fakesgiving is like a trial run for real Thanksgiving. There’s turkey. There’s stuffing. There are delicious sweet potatoes with brown sugar and rum. Basically, it’s a completely amazing excuse to do a full-on Thanksgiving dinner early. Because really, one Thanksgiving is not nearly enough.

Miss Roommate and I made it up last year because we spend Thanksgiving with our families, and they usually have all of the cooking covered. Kicking back and watching football is fun, but I really wanted to make a turkey of my own. And so, Fakesgiving was born. This year, we’re going to try not to make silly mistakes, like trying to thaw a totally-frozen turkey the morning of.

It’s also a completely amazing reason to draw hand-turkeys. If you email one to therecklesschef AT gmail DOT com, I’ll totally post it.

2 Responses to “Fake Holidays Are The Best”

  1. RebeccaC Says:

    OMG. I love this term. My mom and I usually work ourselves into a turkey-craving frenzy by mid-November and have to have Fakes giving the week before. This year, I need to do a dry run of some new dishes before we go to OH with JiT’s family…so FakesGiving will be Sunday. Love it!

  2. Jenny Says:

    Awesome! Can’t wait to hear how yours turns out.


Leave a Reply

