I’m Stuffed

One of my favorite parts of this year’s Fakesgiving dinner was the sourdough stuffing. Or, well, dressing, since I didn’t actually stuff it into the turkey! I made up the recipe as I went along, and I’m so happy that I wrote everything down, because this needs to be made again and again.


Sourdough. Cranberry. Dressing.

I’ve never made stuffing from scratch before (I’ll admit it, I actually enjoy the boxed stuff), and one of the only things I knew about it was that I needed bread cubes. I picked up a loaf of sourdough – it’s one of my favorites, and I thought it might be more exciting than regular white bread. I chopped it into cubes on Saturday night, spread the cubes out on a baking sheet, and by Sunday morning, the bread cubes were nice and crisp.


Sourdough cubes, out to dry the night before.

As for what went in? I knew that I was a fan of mushrooms in stuffing, and celery and onions seemed to be appropriate as well. The fresh cranberries really added a tangy punch, and I am so happy that I was a bit overzealous and bought two bags.

The prep work on this dressing can be done in advance. I chopped the bread into cubes the night before (so they could dry a bit and get nice and crispy), and I chopped up the veggies and stashed them in the fridge until just before go-time.


I love how colorful the fruits/veggies are. Clockwise from top left: onions, cranberries, carrots, celery, mushrooms.

The Recipe:
Sourdough Cranberry Dressing

4 1/2 cups sourdough bread cubes, dried overnight
1 cup chopped onions
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup chopped mushrooms
1/2 cup chopped carrots
1/2 cup chopped fresh cranberries
4 tbsp butter
1/4 cup chicken broth
dash of garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste

Do This:
Preheat the oven to 350. If you have a turkey in there, it should be up to temperature already, and you can slide the dressing into the oven right as you take the bird out. The dressing can cook while the turkey is being carved, and if you’re smart about oven space, you can slide a sweet potato casserole or other dish in at the same time.
Fill a casserole dish with the dried breadcrumbs.
Melt 3 tbsp of butter in a small sauté pan. Sauté the onions, celery, and mushrooms, until all are soft. Pour the softened veggies over the breadcrumbs, and add another tablespoon of butter to the sauté pan. Add the carrots and cranberries to the pan, and lightly sauté them in the butter (don’t cook them quite as thoroughly as the other veggies, though). Incorporate the cranberries and carrots into the casserole dish with the bread cubes and other veggies.
Pour 1/4 cup of chicken broth over the top of the mixture. It should be moist, but not soggy. Shake a little bit of salt, pepper, and garlic powder over the top, toss everything together with a spatula, and put the lid on the dish.
Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. Serve with your favorite seasonal dishes. Or eat it plain. That’s okay, too.


The best part? It’s delicious reheated, too.

I microwaved a plate of dressing today, and it was just as awesome as it was fresh-baked. The cranberries mushed up a little bit more, too, and it was a perfect snack.

2 Responses to “I’m Stuffed”

  1. Maris Says:

    This looks soo good! I make a very similar stuffing with cornbread instead of sourdough, its one of the best parts of Thanksgiving dinner!

  2. Jenny Says:

    I totally didn’t remember about cornbread until I was midway through making this! Next year, we’ll probably have a cornbread stuffing. Or maybe sourdough AND cornbread?


Leave a Reply

