Apples and Onions (and Squash)

I had a sore throat the other day, and I wanted something that was soft and mashy, but that wasn’t applesauce. Something warm. That wasn’t heated-up applesauce. I was also independently craving acorn squash, onions, and tart granny smith apples.


Apples and onions. I can’t be held responsible for what my sore throat is craving.

Guess what I made?

The Recipe:
Onion Apple Squash Mash

1/2 cup chopped white onion
1/2 cup chopped granny smith apple
1 acorn squash
pinch of salt
pinch of fresh ground pepper

Do This:
Chop the acorn squash in half, and place each half face-down in a shallow microwave-safe bowl. Pour an inch or so of water over the top, and microwave the squash until it’s mashy and soft and separates from the outside (skin? rind? I’m not sure). I blasted mine at 3-minute intervals until it became appropriately mushy, and I think the total cook time was a bit over 12 minutes.
You’ll want to let the bowl hang out in the microwave for another 5 minutes or so, just to let it cool off a bit. Most of the water will be gone, but drain off what’s left, and use a spoon to scoop out the soft squash. Transfer the squash flesh into a small saucepan.
Chop up a small white onion (or a third of a large one) and a small granny smith apple. Put 1/2 cup of each into the saucepan with the squash. Add a pinch of salt and fresh ground pepper, and turn the burner to low heat.
Let it hang out for a bit on the stove. To be completely honest, I got distracted by something on tv and let at least 20 minutes go by, but I’m not sure about the exact cook time. Once the apples and onion bits are soft and the whole mixture is soft and mashy, turn off the heat. Transfer the onion apple squash mash to a bowl, and eat with a spoon while still warm.


Squash Mash. Go ahead, say it out loud. It’s fun. Squash Mash.

It was much better than applesauce. The warmth was very soothing to my throat, and I managed to knock out three random cravings at once. Plus, while acorn squash is great on its own, it’s a little less bland this way. I can’t promise that anyone else will enjoy this flavor combination, but I felt better after eating it.

3 Responses to “Apples and Onions (and Squash)”

  1. Maris Says:

    This sounds really good and so different! I love coming up with unique recipes.

  2. janelle Says:

    It IS fun to say it.

    My son and I collect words that we think are fun to say;)


Leave a Reply

