Very Cordial Berries

I found these filled, chocolate-dipped strawberries over at Parsnip and Pear, and decided that they were a must-make. And now, they’re a must-make-again.

I made a few small changes to the original recipe, mostly because the oranges at Whole Foods were totally unimpressive and the clementines were fabulous. Also, sometimes I can’t read, and I added in an extra half tsp of vanilla. The cream filling is still lick-the-sides-of-the-bowl worthy.

The Recipe: Chocolate-Dipped Stuffed Strawberries
(adapted from Nikki’s recipe posted at Parsnip & Pear)

as many large strawberries as you can find (or a pint)
1 cup chocolate chips or chunks
1/2 package (4 oz) cream cheese
1/2 package (4 oz) neufchatel
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp clementine zest
2 tsp fresh squeezed clementine juice
splash of light rum

Do This

Wash the strawberries, and slice off the tops. Using a paring knive, hollow out each berry until they’re readily stuff-able. Side note: if anyone has a more efficient way to hollow strawberries, I would love to know what that is. I broke a few berries with the knife, and we’re not even going to talk about how poorly the melon baller worked.
Using your mixer, whip together the cheeses, sugar, vanilla, zest, juice, and rum until it’s all smooth and fluffy and looks like clouds with zest floating in them.

Try not to consume the creamy filling just yet. Put at least half of it into a piping bag fitted with a small tip (I used a #7 round), and pipe into the hollowed strawberries. Not your mouth. Yet.
Place the filled strawberries on a tray or foil-covered cutting board (it works really well!) and slide into the freezer until hardened.

Melt chocolate chunks in a metal bowl set over a pot of water on the stove. Using a toothpick (or your hands) to hold each strawberry, dip the bottoms of the strawberry in the chocolate as far as possible and place onto the tray to set.
When each strawberry is dipped, place tray in fridge until chocolate is set. Remove toothpicks, and serve.

Alternately (and especially if you still have lots of creamy filling left and you don’t want to waste it), pipe some filling in/on other fruits.

I sliced up a nectarine, and it went very well with the cream. The only other fruit I had on hand was that bag of clementines, so I opted out of using the rest of the cream filling tonight, but I’d love to pair this cream with blackberries, raspberries, peaches, and probably some non-fruit things like pound cake.

Or pipe it directly into my mouth.

5 Responses to “Very Cordial Berries”

  1. Maris Says:

    This is just how I like my fruit – dipped in chocolate, stuffed with cheese! :)

  2. Samantha Says:

    Sounds fantastic! I’d suggest using a small spoon (like one meant for baby food) to hollow out the strawberries. I’ve done that to hollow out grape tomatoes and it worked out pretty well, not too much of a mess.

    • Jenny Says:

      Ooh, I might have to try that. I was also thinking of using the spiky end of the melon baller (which just didn’t occur to me when I was making these…oops).

  3. Liza Says:

    I’ve been looking for strawberry recipes for my daughter’s Strawberry Shortcake themed party. I just might try these for the adults =) thanks for a well written recipe (and the images a plus)!

    btw, in my endless search for everything strawberry, it looks like they have a gadget called strawberry hullers. not sure it will give you the deepness you need though.

    http://www.7gadgets.com/2009/01/31/oxo-strawberry-huller/9295
    http://www.gourmac.com/sthu.html


Leave a Reply

