Oh Aubergine

I have a new favorite sandwich.

I noticed that the Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day book has a selection of recipes meant to go with the breads, including sandwiches. This is my variation on the Aubergine Tartine.

The Recipe: Eggplant, Brie, and Red Pepper Sandwich
adapted from a recipe found in Artisan Bread in Five Minutes A Day
Serves: one
Time: approximately 30 minutes

two lengthwise slices of eggplant, about 1/2″ thick
half of a red pepper, sliced into strips (about 1/3 cup)
a handful of sliced onions (about 1/4 cup)
2 tsp minced garlic
4 tbsp brie or other soft cheese
two slices sourdough (or your favorite) bread
olive oil
salt
pepper

Do This

Brush the eggplant slices with olive oil (on both sides) and season with salt and pepper. Arrange on a foil-lined baking sheet, and pop into the broiler (on low, if you have multiple settings) for five minutes. Take the baking sheet out, and carefully flip the eggplant slices. Broil for five more minutes, or until the slices are soft and lightly browned.

Multitasking time: while the eggplant slices are in the broiler, drizzle some olive oil into a sauté pan, and sauté the onions, red peppers, and minced garlic for as long as the eggplant is broiling — or until they’re soft, but for me, this timed out perfectly.

Spread brie onto each slice of bread. When the eggplant is done in the broiler, stack the slices onto the bread, and top with the onions/peppers. Add a slice of romaine lettuce if you prefer, and close the sandwich.

If you used an oven to broil the eggplants, it should still be hot. Put the sandwich back on the baking sheet that you used for the eggplants, and slide it into the oven for two or three minutes. If you didn’t broil the eggplant in an oven, preheat your oven to 350 just before assembling the sandwich.

Enjoy the sandwich while it’s still warm and melty.

So…I’m officially sold on this Five Minutes A Day concept. I know, I know, it’s been less than a week, and new love is always the most exciting, but I can’t see myself getting tired of this anytime soon. The master recipe is way simple, and has me hooked on fresh baked bread — the baking stone is kind of living in my oven right now, and I’m excited to try out different bread recipes. This sammich recipe? Sealing the deal.

2 Responses to “Oh Aubergine”

  1. Maris Says:

    Mm I can’t wait to start baking with my Artisan Bread in 5 book! I don’t have a baking peel though and I’m wondering how necessary it really is.

    • Jenny Says:

      It’s helpful. The dough is very sticky, and transferring it onto the hot baking stone would be a little funky without one.

      The workaround I was going to do: invert a baking sheet, wrap in (and tape down) parchment paper, and use that as a peel.

      Also: remember LOTS of cornmeal. I thought I was being generous with it, but that dough is so sticky it needs more cornmeal on the peel than you think.


Leave a Reply

