Let’s Laugh About This

Embarrassing confession that is NOT an April Fool’s joke: Until today, I had no idea that cantaloupes had seeds in the middle.


Pull my foodie card right now.

This morning, I cut open a cantaloupe for the first time ever. I know, I’m almost 25 years old, but up until now, I’ve always had pre-sliced cantaloupes (courtesy of my parents, or the dining hall at school, or the super convenient pre-sliced fruit at grocery stores). The seeds inside totally confused me. I mean, it’s a plant, and I guess the seeds have to be somewhere, but for some reason I did not expect them to be in the middle like that.

So, um…tell me about your embarrassing food confessions, and we can all laugh at this! Or you can just laugh at me, because really, who doesn’t know that cantaloupes have seeds?

8 Responses to “Let’s Laugh About This”

  1. Samantha Says:

    Hi!! I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say Hi! I’m a new blogger and love to cook– I’m pretty sure I’ll be stopping by here often to grab recipes. If you’re interested, feel free to check out my blog, Stuckintheplayground.blogspot.com.

    Samantha

    (P.S. Awesome food processor. I wish my dorm had room for something like that :D)

    • Jenny Says:

      Thanks! You’re definitely on the Linky Links page now.

      Also…that food processor is totally compact. I bet you have room for it!

      • Samantha Says:

        Looks great– I’ll have to check it out. I’m stocking up on all the kitchen gadgets I can get next year!

        Thanks for advice about Craigslist, I definitely do find it a bit sketchy, but I guess if you pick valid looking people, you end up with some good stuff. I’ll have to check it out!

        Red Sox Nation is very difficult for me to deal with, being from New York and hopelessly obsessed with the Yankees. I try to be polite while I’m in Boston ;)

        • Jenny Says:

          That’s gotta be hard, but I do respect you for it. I’m in Cardinals territory right now, but Red Sox Nation really knows no boundaries :)

  2. Jessica Says:

    I really wish cantaloupe’s didn’t have seeds. Such a mess to clean up. I love fresh cantaloupe in summer though. Always have some cut up in the fridge for a treat.

  3. Samual Panama Says:

    I hope you would not have reservations if I posted a part of this on my univeristy blog?


Leave a Reply

