Salsa, Take One

Can we tell that I’m obsessed with my new food processor? I’m pretty much finding any and every excuse to use it, and what better to go alongside my Mexican Rice than some fresh, homemade salsa?

This is my first salsa. I went pretty simple and kept things in a pico de gallo style…I’ll get more adventurous next time. I went a bit light on the tomato (The Boyfriend doesn’t like fresh tomatoes, so I cut back…turns out salsa is an exception to this), and a little heavier on the onion. It’s very fresh, and very good with salty tortilla chips.

Chop up: 1/2 cup white onion, 1/2 cup fresh tomato, 1 tbsp cilantro, 1 red chile (minus the seeds, of course)
Add in: 2 tbsp lime juice, 1 tbsp lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste

If you don’t have a food processor, you can chop the veggies with a knife…it’s just faster and more fun to watch them spin.

4 Responses to “Salsa, Take One”

  1. maris Says:

    This looks so good! I have a mini f.p. that I’ve been trying to use more and I’ve never made salsa. I like the way you think! :)

  2. RebeccaC Says:

    This brings back memories. I ‘invented’ a fresh salsa, with tomatoes, cucumbers and cilantro, when I was in high school. I made it so often that my family became obsessed. To this day if I visit my sister, she always seems to have all of the ingredients wating for me in her fridge when I arrive.

    • Jenny Says:

      Cucumbers! I totally did not think about adding those in, and they’re one of my favs. Thanks :)

      Your family sounds like The Boyfriend. He’ll get all of the ingredients for something and that’s a “subtle” hint about what’s for dinner.


Leave a Reply

