Whoever Said Orange Was The New Pink Was Seriously Disturbed

I haven’t posted in over a week because I’ve been too embarrassed to post photos: I made some really disastrous cookies. My fault, not Martha’s. I was attempting to make her Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookies, and they never made it past the rolling and cutting step.

Two reasons:

I was totally blind at the grocery store. I grabbed pink navel oranges instead of pink grapefruit. So, umm, oops on that.

Not tragic, though — I’m sure this substitute didn’t cause the failure of my cookie dough. Also, I learned that I really like pink navel oranges.

The next problem was the result of me wanting to get these cookies made, ASAP. I scanned the ingredient list, checked to see whether the dough needed to be chilled, jotted down the baking time, and just went on and mixed, without thinking to read the instructions.

See what’s wrong with this picture? That is not a paddle attachment. I overmixed, pretty badly. To the point that freezing the dough didn’t make it un-sticky enough to roll out, and adding more flour just made it smell like flour with a little bit of juice in it. Fail.

There’s always an upside to these mishaps, though.
Today’s upside: I remembered how awesome sugared zest is.

I might try doing candied pink navel oranges. After I get these cookies right, that is.

8 Responses to “Whoever Said Orange Was The New Pink Was Seriously Disturbed”

  1. regal Says:

    I never knew there was such a thing as pink navel oranges…guess we can learn something new each day!

    What is sugared zest? Tell me that it’s not a fancy phrase for grated orange peel that has been sugared.

    • Jenny Says:

      That’s exactly what it is. That measuring cup has 2 tbsp of sugar + the zest of 1 1/2 pink navels. The sugar gets infused with the orange oil from the zest. It smells really good.

  2. katie Says:

    i’m going to second the comment about never hearing about pink navel oranges. i might have to try to find some after i get through the tangelos i bought this weekend.

  3. Samantha Says:

    Third on that comment- I’ve never heard of them! But they sound delicious, a nice alternative.

    Everyone has a cookie FAIL now and then. And if you’re like me, they happen more often than not…eep. What is sugared zest, and what can I use it for? Looks really interesting.

    • Jenny Says:

      I’m a fan, and I can’t wait to try making candied pink orange slices.

      Sugared zest is just a couple tbsp of sugar mixed with the zest of a citrus fruit. The sugar draws out some of the oils from the zest, so when you mix it into something (like cookie dough) the flavor gets dispersed via both the zest and the sugar. Martha has a recipe that involves sprinkling sugared lemon zest on melon slices, and I imagine it might be great for rimming a glass for fruity drinks.

  4. Samantha Says:

    Sounds fantastic. Once I get home from school I’m going to have to try some of these recipes out!


Leave a Reply

