Tis The Season

My Gma bought me an awesome cast-iron dutch oven. Aside from a KitchenAid stand mixer, this was my most-wanted piece of kitchen equipment. I can braise now! Thanks, Gma :)

I’m seasoning it at this very moment. According to the little card that came with it, seasoning involves brushing the inside of the dish with cooking oil, and letting it hang out in the oven (at 350) for an hour.

This is either going to be ridiculously easy, or my kitchen is going to catch fire.

5 Responses to “Tis The Season”

  1. Maris Says:

    I want one too! Make something good in it and convince me why I should buy one :)

  2. bodelou Says:

    oooo the coveted dutch oven. next on my list + the evber elusive food processor….still jealous about that one

  3. Amazing Braising « The Reckless Chef Says:

    […] August 7, 2009 — Jenny I finally used my dutch oven for the purpose it was (likely) made for: I braised beef short ribs in […]


Leave a Reply

