Case of the Mondays (Alternately: Winning is Fun)

I’m pretty sure you’ve gathered this by now, but in case you weren’t aware — I’m accident-prone. Very much so. I’m even more inclined to melt spatulas, catch my hair on fire, or make a batch of sugar cookies that doesn’t have any sugar in them if I’m low on energy (or if it’s a Monday). And I have a hunch that it’s not just me :)


This? May not have happened if I’d had a Starbucks Doubleshot® Energy+Coffee handy.

The lovely folks at Starbucks invited me to run a fancy little contest to introduce you to their Starbucks Doubleshot® Energy+Coffee, and all you have to do is tell me about an embarrassing or funny thing that you’ve done in the kitchen.

So, what’s in it for you?

Prizes, of course! I mean, obviously, it’s fun enough to share your hilarious stories, but what kind of contest would this be if there weren’t some fun things to win? You get the chance to win a $5 Starbucks Card, Starbucks Doubleshot® Energy+Coffee coupons, a white board (who couldn’t use that for jotting down recipes on the fly?), and a fancy little gizmo called the StealthSwitch™ that makes computer applications go invisible (in case you’re checking out recipes at the office). Who doesn’t love prizes? (I know I do! Totally looking forward to checking out the samples I’ll be getting.)

So, in short: you can win things just by having a funny kitchen story! And I’ll even cut you some slack in case you’re coordinated and polished and all of your recipes turn out perfectly — it doesn’t have to be your story. You can tell me about the time your roommate set your kitchen on fire, or your puppy knocked over your cake stand, or your neighbor down the street put aluminum foil in the microwave.

Fancy legal terms:

This promotion is solely sponsored by Jenny A. and has not been endorsed or approved by North American Coffee Partnership. By entering, you agree to look solely to Jenny A.  for any claims in connection therewith, and not the North American Coffee Partnership

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Subject to Contest guidelines. Open to U.S. residents only. Contest ends 11-1-09. Void where prohibited.

Starbucks Doubleshot® Energy+Coffee will be sending me some samples soon, and I’ll be letting you know what I think about them. All the opinions expressed here are mine.

So! Leave a comment, and tell me about your funniest or most accident-prone kitchen experiences! You’ve got two weeks to participate, and I’m looking forward to reading your stories (and hopefully sending some prizes to you!).

Thanks, Starbucks!

6 Responses to “Case of the Mondays (Alternately: Winning is Fun)”

  1. Jane Says:

    During the first year of marriage, cooking noob that I was, I decided to try to make chocolate pie. We lived near a farm that delivered gorgeous whole milk to us, unprocessed. I used this to make the pies and served them proudly at a family dinner the next day. As everyone dug in, the odd expressions on their faces was my first clue something might be wrong. I took my first bite and realized what my family had gallantly tried to gloss over–the pies tasted like soap!
    Apparently unprocessed milk reacts in a hinky way with the Dream Whip I’d used.

    Now I only use milk that I buy in the store.

  2. Karthik Says:

    Never, ever, ever assume that what you pulled out of the spice rack is what you think it is.

    Back when I was learning how to cook, I saw this amazing cappucino recipe, and it had a whipped cream finish where the cream was infused with cinnamon.

    So I grabbed a cinnamon and put a few dashes in it and mixed up the whipped cream and put it on top of the cups of coffee.

    And by cinnamon, I mean the curry powder that was right next to it in my neatly alphabetized spice cabinet. You should have seen everyone’s faces when they took a swig…

    I now have three areas where my spices are (on three different shelves in two different cabinets): Indian spices, regular spices, sweet ingredients. I can’t accidentally grab curry when I’m looking for cinnamon… anymore. =)

  3. Megan Says:

    I’ve got 2…

    1) The first time I made mashed potatoes… I love mashed potatoes… they’re my favorite! My mom made this awesome recipe box for me, and while living by myself I decided to make them. It called for 6-8 potatoes. So, I made it with 8–I wanted leftovers. Well, little did I know, once whipped and combined with all other ingredients, I would wind up with over 70 ounces of mashed potatoes. I was happy, but weighed more at the end of the week as I had mashed potatoes with EVERY meal.

    2) My roommate’s boyfriend was very thoughtful and decided to make her a really lovely dinner out of the California Pizza Kitchen cookbook. This included making croutons from scratch. He was doing a great job and me and 2 of the roomies(including his girlfriend) all sat around watching him make the croutons. Not having a pot holder(not sure why), he went to take the crouton pan out of the oven with one of my kitchen towels. It hit the bottom of the oven and caught on fire… we could see this happening, but were all stunned and just stood there staring and pointing… finally he realized it and tried to drop the towel–which he did, but managed to keep his hand on the pan–burning his hand. and then we had to put the towel fire out. All was well, and no real bad injuries, but funny nonetheless!

  4. Rebekah Says:

    Oh, it HAS to be the exploding stove, and I know I told you about that. Well, maybe that wasn’t funny, but it was definitely an accident.

    Funny though… um, trying to bake bread in the toaster oven and setting off smoke alarms and picking dough off all internal oven surfaces because it rose waaaay more than I expected?

    Funny. But sad that the bread didn’t turn out.

  5. Julie Says:

    Before I could cook/bake/use kitchen equipment without accident, my friend wasn’t feeling well. She left her favorite coffee/travel mug in my car the day before. So, being the nice person that I am, I decided to bring her hot chocolate to class. I filled the mug with water and put it in the microwave for about 5 minutes (I had a 15 minute drive to campus). I noticed an odd odor coming from my microwave. Apparently you can’t microwave a steel and plastic travel mug. The handle sort of, kind of, completely melted off the mug. I attempted “surgery” on the mug, which entailed me trying to melt the handle back onto the mug. It didn’t work. I did finish the hot chocolate which she reported still tasted good. The apartment I lived in, smelled like burnt plastic for a week.

  6. Psst! « The Reckless Chef Says:

    […] November 3, 2009 — Jenny If you posted a comment for my Starbucks Doubleshot® Energy+Coffee contest? Check your email. Prizes are on the way this week! Thanks to everyone who […]


Leave a Reply

